Skip to main content
This section is included in your selections.

The following activities and uses are prohibited in critical aquifer recharge areas (based on Guidance Document for the Establishment of Critical Aquifer Recharge Area Ordinances, by WDOE, Publication #97-30):

A. Landfills and solid waste transfer stations, including landfills for hazardous waste, municipal solid waste, special waste, wood waste and inert and demolition waste;

B. Underground injection wells. Class I, III, and IV wells and subclasses 5F01, 5D03, 5F04, 5W09, 5W10, 5W11, 5W31, 5X13, 5X14, 5X15, 5W20, 5X28, and 5N24 of Class V wells;

C. Mining of metals, hard rock, sand, and gravel;

D. Wood treatment facilities that allow any portion of the treatment process to occur over permeable surfaces;

E. Creosote or asphalt manufacturing;

F. Storage, processing, or disposal of hazardous, chemical, or radioactive substances;

G. Electroplating;

H. Class 1A or 1B flammable liquids manufacturing as defined by the Uniform Fire Code;

I. Conversion of heating systems to fuel oil;

J. New petroleum product pipelines;

K. Activities that would significantly reduce the recharge to aquifers currently or potentially used for potable water; and

L. Activities that would significantly reduce base flow to a regulated stream. (Ord. 2083, 2005)